Hotstar Reviews

Hotstar Reviews

Published by on 2021-01-30

Hotstar is your go-to video streaming app for the best of Indian entertainment,
TV shows, LIVE cricket, movies and news. Enjoy unlimited access to your favorite
Star India TV shows, non-stop LIVE cricket, blockbuster movies, exclusive
Hotstar Specials from India’s best filmmakers and st...



Table of Contents:
1. Reviews
2. Is it Safe?
3. Is it Legit?
4. App not working?
5. Report Issue


Hotstar Reviews


  • By

    Iss phase ko kya naam doon. “PLEASE ADD ENGLISH SUBTITLES ON THIS SHOW”

    I was watching this movie Iss pyaar ko kya naam doon in Africa and when I came to the UNited States I tried finding a place where I could watch it took over a year to know about Hotstar. I was so happy that I was finally gonna be able to finish watch it cause am obsessed about that show. If I can tell am their number one fan. But what did I get instead, a big fat disappointment. Am so disappointed with Hotstar right now. I subscribed and everything but when I put on the show to watch it, it was in Hindi and I can’t understand Hindi. But I thought it might have subtitles in English. But there was no option which means no subtitles. Hotstar am really disappointed in you guys. Y’all got ma hopes up that I can finally watch the show. And then y’all disappointed me. Y’all made lose hope. Y’all thought me a lesson anyway, never get your hopes cause you might not be happy about the results.



  • By

    Very poor customer service

    If you ever had problem with the hotstar working, do not expect help from Customer service. They have hired most unhelpful agents who do not understand how customer service works and means. I lost of password and requested to reset giving them details about my account including purchase history, credit care information, my personal details but they said they can’t help if I cannot retrieve my personal email to which the password was going to. Unfortunately, I used an old email which I don’t use it anymore and don’t remember password, they said they will not provide me the password or reset link despite of all the credible information. It was disappointing. I have $99 subscription with them. Ultimately I was able to retrieve my old email password and access the us hotstar account else I would never be able to use $99 account.



  • By

    Expensive subscription fee for the available content

    Good: 1. All available shows are in HD. 2. Streaming on Apple TV and iOS app are very good 3. Live cricket telecast on indian matches 4. Allows 2 screens at the same time Bad: 1. Higher subscription fee for no much content. You will feel disappointed when you find there is no live tv streaming and you cant find all your favorite shows,particularly if you come from YuppTV. 2. Apple Tv app keeps asking to activate the app every day, which is really annoying. 3. Program organization is not so user friendly and frustrating. You have to go through bunch of useless programs to find one or 2 shows that you watch. It would be great if programs can be filtered using date and have a section only for latest ongoing shows. 4. Shows won’t get added immediately after telecasted in india. Programs are available only after a day (after 12 AM EST) 5. Not all shows from star are available to watch. Particularly the international format shows like big boss. This is a deal breaker.



  • By

    Not worth the money

    We signed up on this app just to watch live cricket. It runs well with nice HD quality videos but that doesn’t happen all the time. Mostly it will either have connection issues or just will keep jumping around the screens, so, you cannot even watch the whole over. Sometimes it will have chromecast connection errors. I believe their only priority is to show ads and not live cricket. Willow was much better, I hope these big companies realize that spectators want to enjoy the shows without ads chopping them down. Hotstar, if you cannot take care of live telecast at this magnitude, please give the rights back to Willow so we can enjoy the sport!



  • By

    Ads on subscription without notice

    I am extremely disappointed that Hotstar chose to add advertisements on subscriptions. The reason given is also poor - “ads are placed to allow hotstar to offer such prices”. I would gladly pay more to have an ad free experience, and in fact, I did pay more. I have a subscription that started Nov 2019, which promised an ad-free experience. I understand if I choose to renew I would be bound by these new terms, but in my situation, I am not getting the services I subscribed to in Nov 2019. This is n extremely poor move on Hotstar, coupled with a lack of notice to their subscribers. I will definitely not be renewing after my subscription ends if ads continue to be offered to subscribers.



  • By

    Recent updates removed the highlights

    Recent update in app removed highlights while watching a WC2019 match.. it really doesn’t make any sense.. it doesn’t give an user to go back and see what or how wickets fell etc,, even earlier that was one step better.. now it’s no point having a mobile app.. it should let users go backwards, rewind and start from some point..it should not make us wait until the game gets completed.. Developer responded stating there is a technical issue.. but it is not fixed and it’s more than 4 days. If it is for World Cup, it should’ve been taken in priority and fixed by now.. when premium is charged, service also should be at premium level..



  • By

    Rip off

    At the beginning I liked the app. I upgraded to premium last month cause of it. But this month, after my subscription renewal the app started giving me error message every time I tried to watch a video. Contact their support team Tuesday. They told me to delete the app then redownload it, so I did. When I signed back in I was asked to upgrade again even though I already paid for this month subscription. I gave them my contact details and they keep telling me they are trying o contact me when I never received any call from them. It’s been over 3 days. They are ripping people off by taking their money and then stopping their subscription. Don’t waste your money.



  • By

    Getting ads despite premium membership

    Why the hell would you have 4+ ads on a single 20 minute episode when I have a premium annual membership? To the developer response - That’s freaking dumb! What do you mean competitive? You have an extremely limited catalogue outside of India and you are charging $8+/month for premium. Disney+ is almost half of that and has UHD content! Hotstar is try to make as much mullah as it can and being competitive is just a bad excuse. The viewer experience is severely degraded! I don’t even want a single advertisement when I have dropped $100 on an annual subscription! I would never ever buy anything from an advertiser that advertises with you!



  • By

    Worst user interface

    I purchased this app in USA and content is great but the app features are horrible. It never saves continue watching for me: the choices are randomly saved like things I was watching a week ago. Even as I am watching the show...pause for a call and come back, my episode is gone. I have to start all over again. Search the serial, look for episode and then fast forward to find the point where I was at. Absolutely frustrating experience every single time. Compared the continue watching capabilities of Netflix and Prime this is pathetic. Please improve this. If it wasn’t for amazing content I will not use the app.



  • By

    7 months over - Needs to be addressed immediately

    Hello hotstar, Few things needs to be addressed immediately, 1. Bring shows like big boss to US, this is a paid subscription, stop saying we don’t have rights. If u don’t have rights for certain programs then why did u ppl launch hotstar in the US. It is half baked even after 7 months. 2. Need a Samsung smart tv app. Small organization like Yupptv, willow has smart tv apps why not u? It will take less than a week to develop a app if u have a good developers. 3. Bring the shows to US on the same day and not the next day. My friends and I feel that INDIA FREE HOTSTAR is much superior than US PAID HOTSTAR. Need subtitles on every content you provide. I hope you guys take this seriously. In this piracy world it very easy to watch illegally but I respect the content makers for their work. It’s easy to use VPN which some ppl do but don’t make us do the same. Again it’s high time you need to bring changes or else goodbye very soon. Thanks, Dinesh



  • By

    Not worth the money or time

    Googled for apps streaming game of thrones, Hotstar site came up. In their website they didn’t mention a word about the content not being available in US till I subscribed for a year. The app itself has several issues like- 1. Gets stuck in the middle of a movie. Will have to exit and relaunch the movie to continue. 2. Much slower than Netflix. 3. There is no way to search with combination of filters like language, artists, genre, etc 4. Popular in lists stay the same and I have to scroll for several minutes to see something I have not seen yet. 5. Tons of tamil movies in hindi dubbed versions, but no originals 6. Tons of old flop movies 7. Search results display programs that say content is not available in my country after clicking on it 🤦‍♂️🤮 Overall, I would be really happy if I could get at least half of what I paid for a year in refund and you can cancel my subscription (used only for a month).



  • By

    Cant stream from browser to apple tv

    Having issues streaming from iphone 6 safari to apple tv. Streaming using hotstar app freezes the screen regularly. Contacted support regd. This and they had no clue about this issue. Told me that they will check with technical team and give a call within 24 hours but i never received a call from hotstar.



  • By

    Zero star service and zero star experience

    I have purchased the hotstar through apple in app purchase and got charged the same to my credit card, however in hotstar app, the screen still asking me to select the plan and pay for it , I registered using Facebook account and calling to hotstar service on call and Facebook both are zero level helpful . They said they don’t see my email if registered or payment made from apple and apple asking me to contact the app provider , I’m sure this is problem with hotstar, as I never have apple payment with any other app . Please help



  • By

    The best

    Hotstar is the best thing on earth and especially for people that’s love star plus shows bc ima a dieheart fan and even if you aren’t you will get interested very soon like my cousin did just saying this app is amazing and I love it and it’s a great deal for the price and it has rly great quality and when the new episodes come they are never like never late I love hotstar so much💝💞💓💗💖💘💕❣️❤️



  • By

    Improve, PLEASE!

    It took forever for hotstar to release in the US. I get it, rights and all, its difficult. But the platform is not user-friendly. I cannot resume a movie if I close the app. Have a recently watched or at least the last watched section so that its easier to go back to what I was watching. Arrange the episodes by date and not by name, episode 11 is after episode 1 which does NOT make any sense. Its a good platform with a lot of good content but it needs to be more user-friendly.



A better way to Contact apps


You can now contact Hotstar customer service directly
via Email using our new site - AppContacter.com

Contact Hotstar directly


Is Hotstar Safe?

Yes. Hotstar is quiet safe to use but use with caution. This is based on our NLP (Natural language processing) analysis of over 86,998 User Reviews sourced from the Appstore and the appstore cumulative rating of 4.6/5 . Justuseapp Safety Score for Hotstar Is 23.0/100.


Is Hotstar Legit?

Yes. Hotstar is legit, but not 100% legit to us. This conclusion was arrived at by running over 86,998 Hotstar User Reviews through our NLP machine learning process to determine if users believe the app is legitimate or not. Based on this, Justuseapp Legitimacy Score for Hotstar Is 23.0/100.


Is Hotstar not working?

Hotstar works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or Contact Support.



Reported Issues: 1 Comments

By Ck
Feb 03 2021

Just install 29th Jan 2021 hotstar from starhub and today 6th days not able to watch star vijay.I install this for my mother she is 88 years old not easy for her age to use the remote control to search becoz eye sight very poor. Starhub tie me down with 2 years contract.Who can help me in this matter i need help.





Have a Problem with Hotstar? Report Issue

Leave a comment:



Why should I report an Issue with Hotstar?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Hotstar to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Hotstar customer and are running into a problem, Justuseapp might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Hotstar.


Most Popular in Entertainment

TikTok - Make Your Day
Disney+
Netflix
Hulu: Stream TV shows & movies
Amazon Prime Video
Tubi - Watch Movies & TV Shows
Ticketmaster-Buy, Sell Tickets
YouTube Kids
Aesthetic Wallpaper
HOOKED
Dope Wallpapers HD
YouTube TV