Roku - Official Remote Control Reviews

Roku - Official Remote Control Reviews

Published by on 2022-02-25

Get to know the must-have app for streamers Use the free Roku® mobile app
to: • Control your Roku devices with a convenient remote • Use your voice or
keyboard to quickly search for entertainment • Enjoy private listening with
headphones • Stream free movies, live TV, and more on the go...


Software Approval Ratings

Disapprove
79.8%

Approve
20.2%

Neutral
15.3%

Table of Contents:
1. Reviews
2. Is it Safe?
3. Is it Legit?
4. App not working?
5. Report Issue


Roku - Official Remote Control Reviews: 20 Reviews

By

Best app

Best app for someone that is visually impaired because I can browse the channels and I can also use voice search so I love that idea and I have no issues whatsoever? I love the contact here on the Roku channel but I would love to see more genres added I am a huge horror movie fan so maybe add some movies and more channels for free here on the Roku channel I love the 70s horror grind house exploitation films but I love other shows and movies here I would love to see more documentaries and I would love to see some shock Demetris and Mondo flicks! And I’m also a fan of underground horror movies I would also love to have that added to here on the Roku channel so I would say keep adding more contact and keep going and also maybe add some movies and TV shows that can be narrated for people with visual impairments! I have a love for horror movies and classic movies too such as a Turner Classics but I also love Shakira mantras and I would love to see more news channels added here on the Roku channel so keep updating and keep adding more channels and keep growing


By

Used to love Roku

But they’ve been pretty disappointing recently. My current issue is trying to figure out how to cancel subscriptions, and being unable to get into contact with anyone from Roku Anyone at all, is impossible. If I go to the site of what I’m subscribing to, it says I need to do it through Roku. When I go to Roku’s website, it says I need to do it through the Roku. I don’t see the option anywhere on the ruku, it’s not on the faq, their online “help” system is worthless and just puts me through circles. And their customer service line that they hide the number to (bet you can’t find it on their website) just saying to go online for help. Which isn’t helpful at all. So I’m about to just call my credit card company and file a fraud claim, I don’t know how else to get the payments to stop. Another annoying issue from about a year ago. I bought the top model of Roku since my old rule stopped being serviced. The most expensive, fastest model. Within 2 months it’s telling me I need to buy a memory card since the Roku is full, and until I do, it uninstalls apps to make room for the ones I use. All I use is 5 streaming channels. That’s literally the only apps downloaded on it besides what comes in it, which shouldn’t be a lotl. If I’m buying the most expensive, top end model of a product, I shouldn’t have to buy additional add ones to make it functional. I feel like Roku made it big and then stopped caring about quality, just on profits.


By

Great App, works perfectly.

There’s one thing that must be said about Roku, and that’s that I feel like this app was made because they knew that their remotes would die very quickly. By that I mean, 6 months into having my tv, the batteries inside the remote actually corroded and ate away the battery contacts inside. I cleaned the inside and replaced the batteries only for it to happen again 4 months later. I was using Kirkland signature batteries the second time. After the third time of cleaning out the remote I noticed certain buttons stopped working consistently, and eventually I had to switch to using the app. The app itself is very useful though, I can do more on it that I could with the original remote. I love that I can just open the app on my phone and not worry about looking for the remote that fell behind my bed in my sleep again. However I have one complaint about the app itself, it doesn’t have a widget. I would absolutely love if I could put a widget on my home screen with 3 buttons, power on most recently used tv, open the remote buttons, and volume up + down. If this feature was added, I would gladly change my review to 5 stars.


By

Frustrating at times. Even after update still doesn’t work.

Biggest problem I have is that me nor my wife can connect to both of our TVs to access the remote in the app. I am connected to WiFi and it’s full signal in the living room and in the bedroom. My wife was having troubles a month ago for about 2 1/2 weeks and then it worked for me no problem. However about 4-5 days ago I can’t connect at all. I have WiFi connected to my phone and both TVs and the app is updated however the issue still persists. It’s a bit frustrating guess I will just go ahead an buy 2 new Roku remotes due to the app inconsistency we have had. I will say that when it’s worked for me, it was an amazing app however its not always easy to keep track of a physical remote when you have 2 kids that love to grab it a hide it, forget where they put it or it gets lost. So that’s why the app is always my go to to be able to quickly get the tv on without the 30 mins to all day search. Maybe others have had no issues like I’m having or maybe they have. Anyways 4 stars for the times everything worked however it pretty much useless when it refuses to connect.


By

I am experiencing issues. But still the best.

Version 8.1.0.6 has caused the app to crash when clicking on the device select screen. This may be due to my phone also being enrolled in the iPhone beta updates. Both updates ( iOS and app) happened at around the same time. I have since removed the phone from being enrolled in beta and reverted iOS to its non beta version. However the crash still exists. I have followed normal troubleshooting of removing and installing the app, rebooting, etc. This has given me the opportunity to check out the other Roku apps. While those other apps are at least able to let me hobble along and use the system, I hate that they have ads. I stand by that this app is the better of all the other apps. I just hope that this crash is a known issue and will get fixed in the next version. Update: I have updated to 8.1.1 and the issue has been resolved. I can finally get rid of the horrible competition. Thank you.


By

Great app when it decides to work

I mainly use this for when I lose my physical remote or private listening when I want to watch TV, but not wake up housemates. It seems quite frequently it has stopped connecting to my TV saying that my TV may be in “eco mode” and asks me to “wake it up.” My TV is never in “eco mode” and I’m usually in the middle of a show when this happens. The only way I’ve figured out how to get it to recognize my TV again is to completely unplug my TV for about 20 seconds and plug it back in to completely reboot it. Then it usually works, but will often disconnect during the same watching session. It’s very random, too. Sometimes I can go a whole day without this problem. Sometimes I give up and just watch stuff from my phone because I can’t get it to private listen for more than 5 minutes. I have a strong WiFi connection and my bed where I try to private listen from isn’t far from my Roku TV. I don’t think I’ve ever reviewed an app before, but this needs to be fixed. I’ve looked at reviews from a year (and longer) ago complaining of the exact same issue. PLEASE GET THIS FIXED, roku developers!





By

Why I love this app

I love this app because I don’t have to move when I wake up lookin for my control I just grab my phone and there is my control then I find it when I’m awake and I love not having to move out of my bed it’s like having your tv on your phone and don’t start me on that I can watch my. MY tv in my phone I just feel like my tv is in my pocket or in my purse at any time I need it and I feel important for having my tv in my pocket/purse. I just love the quality no hacking no lagging no need of standing up in the mornings anymore and I love how I just can do whatever in this app involving my tv and don’t start me on the tv the tv is the best quality ever EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER Athens best one EVER I don’t know what can be best than this it just needs to not stop being itself don’t change anything to that tv or ima return all the TVs I bought of you because their perfect just like they are that’s my review 5⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️rating ever EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER there that’s my best review.


By

Can’t prevent phone from auto lock?

One glaring omission from this app is that there is no option to prevent the screen from auto-locking. That seems like such an oversight of something so essential in a remote app. Imagine you have a physical remote that sleeps and may or may not reload when you want to use it. Behold Roku app. Turning off auto-lock for the entire device just to keep the remote open is really a bad and unsafe alternative. Unfortunately with all the great features this app provides (especially the swipe controls and keyboard) this app becomes completely useless because eventually you will find yourself taking the path of least resistance and just reach for the physical remote. Please please add an auto-lock prevention option. IOS has this capability and from experience it’s relatively minimal effort to implement this functionality. Also Roku doesn’t seem to have an email to suggest missing features, so I’m going to be pessimistic here and assume Roku probably won’t read this and this app will never get this option. I so hope I’m wrong because I really want to use this app 🖖.


By

Very Convenient When you Misplace the Remote

I was very excited when I found out Roku made an app for the iPhone. My remote is often knocked over by the cats and lands under my wheelchair which makes it hard to find. Or when I misplace the remote which is why I wrote this review since I couldn’t find it and the rate screen popped up. Lol I find it especially simple to use and though I only have one Roku still hooked up it always finds the right one. I’ve had my Roku for several years and was wondering if the app would work. The app works just fine on my iPhone 5. Plus it looks exactly like my remote the one without the channel buttons. If it is possible to change the skins I do not know I haven’t searched it out. I read one reviewer mention it often can’t find their connection that has happened only once I just restarted the app and it was fine. This is one of my most useful and helpful apps I have on my phone!


By

Very good but TAKE THE 17+ RATING OFF!!!!!

I used to use this app literally every day because the remote was so useful! My roku tv at home is so finicky. It has a sweet spot that is hard to find and I have a shaky hand so it is also hard to keep consistent. But when I found this app it was a game changer. You don’t even have to aim the remote with this app. Private listening is also very useful. I like to have my tv loud, so late at night when I don’t want to disturb my parents watching tv, I can just turn on private listening and listen through my headphones. But with the latest update they added a 17+ rating. Which is super annoying. My mom has a restriction on my phone to where I can’t download 17+ apps. So thanks Apple. Now I have to have an app that is super bobo and doesn’t even have private listening. And btw, this app doesn’t have ads. LITERALLY EVERY OTHER APP ON THE APP STORE THAT IS A ROKU REMOTE HAS ADS. So not only is it super bobo, has no private listening, IT ALSO HAS ADS. Apple make this app 12+ or whatever it was before again!!!


By

Can be very frustrating at times

The app is a great alternative to using the remote, especially if you are someone like me who looses it every 5 seconds. I have the app on a setting to where i can turn my tv on through the app. A lot of the times the remote is not connected so it doesn’t turn on my tv. The main reason I have this app is to listen to the tv with my headphones. A lot of the times it gives me problems and it doesn’t always connect to my headphones or it will connect for a little while and then start glitching later. This app has a lot of problems and its so annoying when I turn on my tv expecting to use my phone and its not connected. I don’t understand why its not connected when i have an internet connection. And also when the app starts glitching is causes my tv to glitch and turn off. And sometimes my tv doesn’t work unless i get up and unplug it and plug it back up again. As i said before, this is a good app and is very convenient, but at the same time it can still use a lot of work in the meantime.


By

Powering Off Roku TV Form Bathroom

So we have a Roku tv in our living room, that it seems my parents can’t physically turn off before heading to bed. So every time I wake up to go use the bathroom I can see it’s still on form the hallway leading to the living room. So instead of walking; half asleep into the living room with only a shirt and undergarments on I can now just use the app and turn the TV off form way in the back of the house. It also has a great use! If it’s way to loud I can also use my phone and turn the volume down without them knowing. They can still hear it; they just seem to like it loud. I wouldn’t mind it but seeing as I can hear it at the other end of the house, it needs to be turned down. It also has a great feature to where I can hook headphones up to my phone and hear privately form the TV without disturbing others. It’s a great app for a great TV.


By

Note To App Developers

Theoretically, a brilliant app. The reality of it is that this app in the year+ that I’ve been using it has upgraded many times, each time seeming to get more and more glitchy...and not really adding anything of great positive change to the app. I’m at the point now where about half the time neither ios device I use is able to connect to my Roku tv and almost always at least one is unable to connect. Yes. I know about unplugging the tv for a few minutes to reset it but it’s rather annoying when I’ve just prepared a meal and I’m sitting down to watch something and have to wait an extra 5 minutes while my food gets cold for the connection to reset. So here’s the message I’d send to the developers: The app, while the other features are cool, is designed to be A REMOTE. If it can’t even be used as a remote then YOU ARE FAILING AS DEVELOPERS OF THIS APP. Forget the extra nonsense until you take care of these bugs preventing us from connecting the remotes to our roku tvs. Thank you.





By

USED to be great

I used to love this app. I mainly used it for the Private listening feature. I would use it all the time with Jabra wireless earbuds to watch movies and would have no problem. However, within the last month , when I connect to watch tv via Private Listening … the sound cuts out. It screeches and drops connectivity. I can’t go five minutes without the sound dropping and when I touch the Private Listening headphone icon to switch it back to tv sound …nothing happens. I tried it with a pair of Bose wireless earbuds and it does the same thing. No problem with the Bluetooth because I can listen to music on my phone via either pair of earbuds with no connectivity issues at all. App will show an error “Your Roku is not online proceed without connection ?” … while I’m literally watching the tv. No streaming issues. I finally tried a pair of wired earbuds …and it worked with no problem. Major issues with Private listening when connected to Bluetooth headphones. Please Fix !


By

Family Remote(ROKU)

Good morning here is my review This app is literally the best when my sister can’t find Our remote to our TV I say calm down because there’s no need to panic because I have the app right here on my iPhone and almost like everybody in my family does and will use it like a lot and can’t find a remote the only reason why I did A review was because I want to help support this app because because I really enjoy paying for movies and watching them even more they have Netflix ,sling hulu,vudu, and more and here is some advice when you go to sleep at night time are you Gotta do is press the pause button and when you wake up in the morning it’s showing pictures of the new movies that’s about to come out like for example big Brother Doctor Who she’s Gotta have it or more or more classic movies so I hope you like it I tried my best my very best have the very best day goodbye...😀😄😁


By

Roku channel TV bugs

Hello, have something to report, Roku channel crashes on the streaming stick after a few minutes of a movie, do not believe me, launch some thing and then wait a few minutes, your Channel will just stop working, and go all the way back to the menu where he would select your channel, it is very annoying, I hope this can be fixed in the next update on the streaming stick and, the following work just fine, main site, Apple app. These are solid, but the TV side needs to be tweaked just a little. I remember being able to watch a full movie on the thing, please fix it when you can thank you very much. Any update, I figured out something, this is all fine if you connect it all into the TV, but if you put it into the power stick I mean the plug, it goes back and does that thing I described. So I think this just might be my fault. :-) Anyway, sorry for wasting your time. Frown


By

Bluetooth flakey / loss of device connection

I’ve been using the Roku app for about 2 months. All of the basic functions work which is great. My issue with the app is the Bluetooth functionality and the overalls app connection. The app seems to work for a time, or can work longer some days, but the app often will randomly drop signal for the headphones, lose my Roku sound bar and freeze up. I have to restart the phone, the headphones and the sound bar to get it to work again. A retry / reconnect on the sound bar never re-finds the sound bar. The aftermath of the app freeze on the phone and it’s connection with the Bluetooth headphones is what demands a phone reboot. I love the idea of the app and the potential. When it works, I love the functionality and option the listen and control our tv discretely as my wife is a night nurse with an opposite sleep schedule. I’d gladly do 5 stars if it wasn’t for all the disconnects resulting in hardware/software freezes.


By

Roku services bricked?

Been using this app with my Roku TCL TV for years without a problem, but as of yesterday this app just refuses to connect with my tv at all. It will even detect the tv but not connect with it, no matter how many times I tried. Another related issue is that I can’t seem to stream content from my mobile devices to my Roku tv anymore. Used to be able to beam whatever video I was watching on my phone straight to the tv, but now that doesn’t work either. Just like before, it detect that my Roku tv is there, but when I select it to stream from the phone, nothing happens… This all leads me to believe that there is a clear issue across Roku’s services. Perhaps their systems are down? My Roku tv still works fine otherwise, so I won’t give this a 1 star review, but as a wireless remote to my Roku tv, this app has effectively been bricked and made useless. I’m hoping Roku gets a handle on this issue soon, because the current update didn’t fix the connectivity issue and I still can’t use it to operate my tv.


By

Good app but needs updates

I lost my remote 2 - 3 days ago and I used this app! When I first did. It was okay. The next day I realize you need to have your tv on for the next day otherwise you have to get a remote. The channels are cool though however sometimes you want to watch something and then you have stuff you don’t like. That is just my opinion. I get the thing of it needing to connect. However don’t turn off you tv ever otherwise useless app! My mom bought 5 yesterday. Yes that is right, I said 5 just in case if I lose another one. I have another spare. Sometimes the needs connecting plays for no reason. And is this just my tv but the Roku TVs disconnect the WiFi after turned off for hours. Not even a day! You need to change this. Or make a button to turn it on when not connected. Other then that. It is a good app. Not the best though. If you make this app better. I will regret this message. But for now, this is ridiculous!


By

THIS ISNT TINDER U FOOLS

***edit*** I went into the settings to switch my Roku and I saw the option to switch it back to how I liked it, and here I accidentally selected ‘swipe’ mode instead of ‘traditional’ mode weeks ago without realizing :/ I’m a clown :/ I’m sorry roku I love you, baby GET THE NEW VERSION OF THIS OUT OF HERE!!!! Why do you have to swipe your finger to scroll up, down, and across???? When you’re trying to find something to watch or know what show you want it literally takes fifty years to get to it because of how much fingering swiping you have to do. I want the one where you just have to press the button. Every time I try to swipe it it accidentally presses the buttons instead and I have to hit the back button a million times just to find what show I want. This is the dumbest thing I have ever seen. How do I switch back? Again, this is the dumbest update I have witnessed in my entire life.







A better way to Contact apps


You can now contact Roku - Official Remote Control customer service directly
via Email using our new site - AppContacter.com

Contact Roku - Official Remote Control directly


Is Roku - Official Remote Control Safe?

Yes. Roku - Official Remote Control is quiet safe to use but use with caution. This is based on our NLP (Natural language processing) analysis of over 1,329,787 User Reviews sourced from the Appstore and the appstore cumulative rating of 4.7/5 . Justuseapp Safety Score for Roku - Official Remote Control Is 20.2/100.



Is Roku - Official Remote Control Legit?

Yes. Roku - Official Remote Control is legit, but not 100% legit to us. This conclusion was arrived at by running over 1,329,787 Roku - Official Remote Control User Reviews through our NLP machine learning process to determine if users believe the app is legitimate or not. Based on this, Justuseapp Legitimacy Score for Roku - Official Remote Control Is 20.2/100.


Is Roku - Official Remote Control not working?

Roku - Official Remote Control works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or Contact Support.




Reported Issues: 1 Comments

By Sandra L Spahler
Nov 03 2021

I WANT TO CANCEL AND CANNOT DO THIS, I NEED SOME HELP, IT APPEARS TO BE A PROBLEM BECAUSE I SEE OTHERS WHO ARE TRYING TO CANCEL AND CAN'T. THIS IS AN OUTRAGE TO KEEP COLLECTING MONEY FROM PEOPLE WHO WANT TO CANCEL. PLEASE SEND ME HELP TO CANCEL MY SUBSCRIPTION...





Have a Problem with Roku - Official Remote Control? Report Issue

Leave a comment:



Why should I report an Issue with Roku - Official Remote Control?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Roku - Official Remote Control to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Roku - Official Remote Control customer and are running into a problem, Justuseapp might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Roku - Official Remote Control.


Most Popular Apps in Entertainment

TikTok
TikTok Reviews

Read more
Netflix
Netflix Reviews

Read more
Disney+
Disney+ Reviews

Read more
Roku - Official Remote Control
Roku - Official Remote Control Reviews

Read more
Paramount+
Paramount+ Reviews

Read more
Hulu: Watch TV series & movies
Hulu: Watch TV series & movies Reviews

Read more
Peacock TV: Stream TV & Movies
Peacock TV: Stream TV & Movies Reviews

Read more
Ticketmaster-Buy, Sell Tickets
Ticketmaster-Buy, Sell Tickets Reviews

Read more
HBO Max: Stream TV & Movies
HBO Max: Stream TV & Movies Reviews

Read more
Amazon Prime Video
Amazon Prime Video Reviews

Read more
The Voice Official App on NBC
The Voice Official App on NBC Reviews

Read more
Tubi - Watch Movies & TV Shows
Tubi - Watch Movies & TV Shows Reviews

Read more
discovery+ | Stream TV Shows
discovery+ | Stream TV Shows Reviews

Read more
PlayStation App
PlayStation App Reviews

Read more