Aetna Health Reviews

Aetna Health Reviews

Published by on 2022-09-22

The Aetna Health℠ app helps you stay on top of your health care when and where
it works for you. With just a few taps, you can find a doctor, see claims and
plan information, and access your ID card. You can even talk with a doctor
anytime by phone or video. It’s simple. And, it’s all in...


User Experience Ratings

Negative experience
86.7%

Neutral
61.0%

Positive experience
13.3%

Table of Contents:
1. Reviews
2. Is it Safe?
3. Is it Legit?
4. App not working?
5. Report Issue


Reviews (28)

By

Provider In-Network Info Doesn’t Match

I’m looking for a cardiologist and I’ve been using AetnaHealth for a while. A few cardiologists are listed as 2 specialties—Cardiology and Cardiovascular Disease Physician. Those that are have an ! In their info that says they’re In Network but ‘certain providers may be out of network for certain specialities at this location: Cardiology’. How can that be? Functionally those two specialties are the same thing. All a Cardiologist does is Cardiology, how can he be listed as out of network for a location for the only thing he does there? The doctors office themselves says they take Aetna insurance all the time, but then what does that ! mean? On the website it says nothing about out of network specialties for any provider and it even lets me use the price estimation tool for that location. Aetna needs to get their information correct one way or another, most people can’t waste time or money accidentally going to an appointment for a provider that’s actually out of network because AetnaHealth and website have different info. Calling is no help either, I’ve gotten 2 opposite answers from 2 different people, but the second person emailed me a provider list as proof showing the doctor I want to see as In Network as a Cardiovascular Disease Physician. Do I have to check every doctor I want to see 3 times now to average out the answer? I don’t even trust the Provider List I was given at this point.


By

Do not use Aetna App to make a payment

Aetna failed to process my payment to provider twice. I placed payment for two of my claims using this Aetna mobile app. They both failed. I’ve got past due notice from the provider after I made payment. I called them to explain that I made payment via Aetna mobile app already and had a receipt. Then, a few days later, I’ve got refund for this payment, it was almost month later since I made a payment. I called the provider and apologized this late payment which was not my fault and sent a check them immediately. Now, another claim, I paid for the claim on Mar 19, 2019. Today, on May 14, I’ve got past due notice from the provider. So far, I didn’t see refund logged for the claim on the Aetna mobile app, so I thought my payment was processed and sent to the provider successfully. I called Aetna, I was on hold for a few minutes, and this is what they said: They, Aetna, sent my payment to the provider on May 25, 2019, 6 days after I made a payment via Aetna mobile app. However, the provider never cash it, hence my payment was automatically refunded. Then, why the refund wasn’t shown app soon? And, why payment process didn’t work? Why the provider never cash my payment, is it their fault or Aetna’s fault? My conclusion: I will never use Aetna mobile app to make my payment to provider. I will use my HSA account, the provider’s online payment system, or send a check!


By

Still the poorest and most inefficient health insurance app

The Aetna app has been consistent in two areas for the last several years, consistency in lack of redesign for AetnaHealth and consistent poor performance. AetnaHealth has not changed in years, it provides little to know real useful information without diverting you back to the web based platform, which is an exercise in how many times you can login despite being logged in on AetnaHealth and the three previous tabs opened in your browser. The answers provided by Aetna are akin to a poorly written mystery novel, you know something happened and you owe some amount of money to someone but you are never really sure. Do not worry, there is a link that will explain it too you; nope it’s just another tab asking you to log in again. The one true feature of AetnaHealth and Atena’s entire platform is security. No one can login that many times unless it is the user and secondly you can never get actual useful information about your healthcare coverage to utilize it in the best way possible, which lets be honest is the real goal of Aetna. My only wish is that employer moves away from them, as for AetnaHealth abandon all hope ye who enters.


By

Doesn’t function well. Infrastructure is 20th century.

Most recent issue: I lost my job and needed a document stating my last day of coverage, which was about 1 week away. Aetna could not produce a digital version, mail and fax were the only option. They absolutely would not help in my effort to get new coverage in a week, and could only say “I’m sorry” to the fact that their terrible infrastructure was going to leave me without coverage for a month. They don’t seem to understand that there are humans on the customer side of their business. UX failure: I cannot search for a doctor (there is no search bar). Cannot filter doctors. The only way you can find a doctor is to walk in front of the office building because it’s based on location with no other way of functioning. From a UX, and general usability position AetnaHealth is dumb and pointless. What’s worse is when I had to call, the person took 10 min to do the search I could do myself, then they could only provide me with a phone number. Then after that the doctor office themselves won’t book appointments on Friday at all. I feel like I just warped into 1983.


By

Issues with App/Website

Overall you’ve finally come close to getting it right!!! However normally I use your Mail-order Pharmacy for my medications. For one offs and emergency fills I’ve always used Walmart on Hope Church Rd. For whatever reason you have defaulted my local Pharmacy to Medley, whom I’ve never used, let alone heard of. Each time I try and price a medication you default me to Medley. Can’t you fix this??? Related to Pharmacy issues being a heart patient I’ve always kept Nitroglycerin Spray on hand for its convenience. But when I try and price it, your App/Site gives me an error that pricing isn’t available. I’ve asked about this multiple times and have been requested to attach a screenshot. Problem is you won’t accept screenshots or embedded images. Go figure. Lastly someone dropped the ball and I’m out of my 40 mg Furesomide and although AetnaHealth says it’s available there doesn’t seem to be a way to request it. Thanks, Jack Collins


By

Sadly just like the website for Dental

My experience is based on Aetna Dental PPO. Dont know how useful it is for other coverages. I give it two stars: one for being able to access my ID card, one for being able to view claims. For determining my specific coverages it is as useless as their website. For instance, my Plan Summary page tells me that it pays 80% of “Major Services”. It doesn’t say what those services are or what my annual limit is. It tells me to look at Plan Documents for specific coverage information. When I go to Plan Documents I am greeted by an empty page that says I have no plan documents. The Plan Summary page has an option labeled Spending Details. When I click that link it takes me to a blank page that tells me to go to the Plan Summary (the page I just came from) to view my spending details. Majority of AetnaHealth is just a copy of the dysfunctional website, even though the website urges you to get AetnaHealth to see all the details of your coverage. PATHETIC





By

Aetna error/terrible customer service

I recently had a baby. We met our deductible and out of pocket maximum during that time. We received bills in the mail amounting to over $4k over our out of pocket max. I called customer service eight times and was told something different every time and no one could resolve the issue. We have insurance for a reason. We pay a good amount for our premium and we have a high deductible and max oop. We are willing to pay our max oop, which is no issue. Unfortunately, no one at Aetna can do their job and guide us in the right direction, so now two of my bills went to collections. No one seems to care and no one is being held accountable. When I asked to speak to a supervisor the reps said they don’t have one. How is that even possible? It’s not. There is always someone above someone and always someone in charge. This is causing me a lot of stress and anxiety. Stay away from Aetna! Also, AetnaHealth is terrible! It doesn’t give us all of the information we need to navigate our claims properly.


By

Difficult to search for providers, impossible to have to log ins

Overall, I was excited to use AetnaHealth rather than having to call Aetna all the time, but I have two problems with this one: (1) I have aetna for my dental (through my work, and I am the primary account holder) and my medical (through my husband). With the old Aetna app, I had two different logins to see medical or dental. Now both logins go to my medical insurance only and I can’t see my dental insurance details at all. There should be a possibility to have two cards and two accounts stored on AetnaHealth . (2) When I go to ‘Search for providers’ all I can search for are the popular searches that AetnaHealth suggests, I can’t type in what providers I need myself. Would be great if both of the above could be fixed. Also would be amazing if you could get pre-approval and understand how much you would be charged for each procedure with a specific doctor through AetnaHealth rather than having to call.


By

5 Stars in 2015!

So yes, if I jumped on AetnaHealth in 2015 I probably would have given it 5 stars, just look at all this information!! Sadly it’s 2021, and Aetna’s algorithm leaves a lot to be desired. Tried to find a Chiropractor, app tells me “You can use these Chiropractors in the area buddy!” and so I say thank you app, and book an appointment. Luckily the woman at the desk at the Doctor’s office was sharp, and after calling me back three times, finally realized that I was NOT cleared to go to their offices, since they were in network, but not in the “medical group” I selected. Like I said, in 2015, sure no problem. In 2021, you show me WHO I CAN ACTUALLY GO TO or you failed. Add to that the fact that AetnaHealth makes me type out my sign in every time (doesn’t remember me, won’t use face recognition) and AetnaHealth seems more like the winner at a 9th Grade Science Fair then something a Fortune 500 company paid a developer thousands and thousands for...


By

Blank screen...?

AetnaHealth has a lot of potential, unfortunately, this is my second time downloading AetnaHealth with roughly 3 months in between and still getting a blank white screen. Thinking it may be my connection... however it is not. Fix the bugs and I may download it again. *UPDATE* Okay so after almost 5 months I decided to try to download AetnaHealth again. Thinking that the developers would have had plenty of time to do some updates and bug fixes... WRONG download AetnaHealth and... blank white screen. My family and I use (Mailhandlers) Aetna insurance and would really love to use AetnaHealth. But again I download it, open it and blank white screen!?!? Yet my wife downloads the same app on her phone and it works as it should?!?!? Answers would be great I want to use AetnaHealth . Since I am one of millions who pump money into this insurance company. A functioning app would be great


By

Horrible

In November of 2018 you took back claims that were paid on my daughter whom I carry primary insurance. I called you multiple times to address her double coverage and explanation of benefits with her secondary coverage. You called them and they also explained and you took primary coverage but the bills never got paid. I called again and talked to sandy on 5/9/19 and she told me that she would call Aetna and take back and have all bills processed that they had. Today I got a collections notice in the mail for all those bills that your service reps told me they were absolutely taken care of. I’m extremely angry and will be writing a letter to the ceo of the company I work for. I’ll also be calling your management on Monday. I’ve had your insurance for almost 17 years, this is outrageous and ridiculous how much time and energy I’ve put into this, only to be extremely disappointed In your company.


By

Finding providers

What I want to use the Aetna app and website for most is to find a local provider. Often I have done my own research to determine who I would like to see, then I will check on AetnaHealth to find out if the are in network. The functionality of this used to be relatively simple - when I would type in a name I would see a result of that doctor or practice, and there would be a line that indicated whether or not they were in network. Now when I type on a specific name it just gives me a list of similar types of doctors, but doesn’t actually give me the results I am looking for. Even if the doctor is out of network, I want to see the answer to the search that I put in. It is beyond frustrating to use this function of AetnaHealth , and I still can’t get the answers that I am looking for.


By

I can’t even log-in and the redirect site has been down for weeks

I’ve had Aetna for a year and have never been able to log onto AetnaHealth. I’ve reset my password twice, and spoken to customer service about potential account lockout. Each time I try to sign in, AetnaHealth displays a page that states that the service is momentarily down and offers to redirect to a secure log-in webpage. No luck there either, as it just instructs me to do whatever I need to do by calling customer service with the phone number on my card. I get mail about how awesome the Aetna app is, and the features honestly sound great. Virtual therapy session offerings, wireless prescription mgmt, online dermatologist recommendations- but I can’t even log on. I’m going to be talking to my employer about why we even get our insurance through Aetna when other providers actually care about having an online presence.





By

No Signature Required!

When I order my specialty pharmacy medications it’s very nice to work with your employee that answers the call, the problem is you will not send them without someone signing for them. You tell the customer that a signature is required by Medicare but this is NOT true. Medicare doesn’t require a signature, your internal policies and procedures do. I’ve been taking these medications for 7.5 years and every insurance company, including yours, has processed the order with no signature required. When I started taking these medications 7.5 years ago you were my specialty pharmacy and did NOT require a signature. I hope you decide to allow the patient to order their medications without a signature.


By

Best health app ever - it goes 1 better than labcorp

OMG, What have you done Aetna. They have outdone themselves. I used to have such a. Hard time understanding medical bills but now it’s a walk in the park. You can immediately know what’s your deductible, how far you are. What claims have been charged, how much etc. Also the search functionality is so super awesome. There is no slow websites to deal with or those dreaded long phone calls. Have not tried the payment functionality yet but I look forward to trying more features on this. Keep up the good work.


By

Improvement Needed Overall

I see a lot of room for improvement. I’m new to Aetna but, my previous HMO had a fantastic setup. Here I struggle to find my Doctors number and I believe they should make a section where you can make your doctor appointments online. In addition, they should make your medical history available to you (accessible online). Therefore, I would revamp their whole online setup and make it “user friendly”. I can already tell you the difficulties my wife and I are having with getting Aetna to schedule appointments or providers to call us back for her ultrasound sound appointments to checkout our baby’s development during her pregnancy. I wish I could switch back to my old HMO but, I’m stuck where my job offers health insurance.


By

Misleading UI

The IU is misleading. Even though you complete the daily bubble, you may not get credit for that day. You need to go into the health app, then active calories and then data and sources and then select your apple watch from that list. Then you would see the calories for watch day. You need to make sure this number hits 600 to get the points. The bubble completion doesn’t really matter. So basically AetnaHealth is useless and unreliable as you need to use health app and dig in too much to check if your daily goal is complete or not


By

Unable to pay claims

I am unable to pay claims through AetnaHealth . After entering payment info, I get a confirmation screen and then it says processing. It continues to say processing forever and I have to completely exit AetnaHealth . I’ve tried this with several different providers, multiple payment methods, and over a couple of weeks time. It simply does not work. When I called Aetna about the issue I was told to not use AetnaHealth to pay my claims. This is an unacceptable response when the purpose is to manage and pay claims. I am also frustrated that I am unable to login as myself and view my children’s claims. I have to be logged into my husband’s account to see them. As I am the member of the household who manages our children’s medical appointments and bills, this makes it difficult.


By

Latest update 3.4.0 is terrible

Doesn’t appear that much testing was done prior to deployment of the latest mobile app release. First thing it broke was Face ID login. Even after signing in manually Face ID shows enabled but still doesn’t work. Also the supposed new features aren’t showing available. Though it shows the version to be updated to 3.4.0 AetnaHealth still is older version. Tried deleting AetnaHealth and reinstalled it with same results. I have the latest IOS 12.3.1...this pretty pathetic from an IT perspective.


By

Getting better, but missing key features

While AetnaHealth is getting better over time, it is still missing two important features. The first is the message center. I receive an email notification that I have a new message, and when I tap to open it, it opens AetnaHealth . However AetnaHealth does not have the message centre in it. When I go to the browser to view it there, it opens AetnaHealth automatically. Frustrating experience. I would also like the ability to submit a claim via AetnaHealth so that I don’t have to switch to my browser on my computer.





By

Use of HSA

It would be great if I could store my HSA card within the apps, or a related digital wallet, so I can pay claims much more easily without punching in all the card details repeatedly. My wife recently had a medical episode which resulted in about 10 separate claims for the bundle of care. I had to open each claim and punch in the card number, name, expiration date, etc. to pay each claim through AetnaHealth . On the positive side - it’s a huge improvement to be able to pay claims through AetnaHealth versus waiting for paper bills to arrive.


By

Clean & straightforward

Great app. No clutter and it’s easy to do what’s most important to me. I can view my claims and balances and I love saving my ID card to Apple Wallet — lets me pull it up to show at the pharmacy without having to log in. Thank you aetna for working to improve the member experience.


By

One of the WORST apps

With all the money health insurance companies charge us, you’d think they’d at least invest the effort in maintaining the facade of a useful, solid app. Instead, the Aetna app is as basic as it gets. There’s literally only two or three things max you can get out of it, all related to the most basic of info: what is ur insurance ID. There are no tools to look up doctors that are in-Network or contact HELP/ SUPPORT. It’s that bad. Every seemingly useful button takes you to their horrible website which is even more user-hostile in its own regard. Sites don’t load or constantly freeze. AetnaHealth itself feels like something from 10 years ago. It’s pathetic. Whoever is handling their digital/mobile strategy should be fired. USELESS.


By

Garbage

AetnaHealth, compared to the Aetna Mobile one, is useless! I’m terrified to find out what happens in December when the mobile one is discontinued because this one doesn’t provide a third of what that one does. On the old mobile app I can: see prescriptions separate of medical claims, contact customer service via secure message, sort claims by family member and a host of other things that AetnaHealth can’t. It’s literally a generic app. On top of that, every time I log in I get ‘Spending Details Unavailable’. I’ve uninstalled and reinstalled it twice with zero luck now. AetnaHealth is useless garbage and there is absolutely no way it has 4.5 stars! Get it together Aetna! Mobile apps are how most utilize their account in this day and age!


By

This app is a joke!

How can you even call this an app?! Login is covered by other text making it nearly impossible to plug in your ID and PW. Once you do get that in message comes up saying how hard you are working to make AetnaHealth better.......and it is only available to a select group....who exactly are these select folks? Says you can go to the full website....oh and once again plug in your ID and PW....really....why are you even offering this as an app? And after you go though this insanity to get to your web site and try to find out what coverage you personally have.....it allows you to click on that area of the webpage but alas nothing there....joke that really isn’t funny.


By

Aetna continues to have USELESS search

AetnaHealth is harder to use than the previous one and continues Aetna’s history of totally useless search mechanisms. Example: I was looking up urgent care facilities where my daughter will be going to college in the fall. The nearest was listed as almost 100 miles from the school. Seems odd, right? I did the same search for our own town and found the closest to be about 60 miles. There are, in fact, at least three urgent care clinics that will take Aetna here. One of the search results listed a Red Med about 100 miles away. There is a Red Med about 10 miles from my house. What the hell, Aetna? Glad I’m not feverish or bleeding and looking for an urgent care.


By

No info/functions except claims and insurance card

I’ve been using the older app (teal “ae”icon) and today when I logged in to that app I was prompted to try the new app (purple “a” icon), so I downloaded it and logged in. My ENTIRE purpose was to refill a prescription and there’s literally no information on my prescriptions, much less a way to do a mail order refill. No place to store card info to pay for my meds. No care team information. Looks like the provider search for my area might work, but I almost never need that. Basically, this new app only has claims information and my insurance card. That’s it. What, exactly, is the point? I’m sticking with the old app.





By

App useful

Love AetnaHealth and the functionality of always having you card. I find it difficult to manage claims. They are not listed in a fashion letting you know what is actually paid, and what you still need to pay. It states what you are responsible for, however not if I have actually paid that or not. Essentially there is no receipt with information tied to the claim once you pay online. You get an generic email with no information. So I needed to call and make sure I had no open claims still.






Is Aetna Health Safe?

No. Aetna Health does not seem very safe to us. This is based on our NLP (Natural language processing) analysis of over 166,851 User Reviews sourced from the Appstore and the appstore cumulative rating of 4.6/5 . Justuseapp Safety Score for Aetna Health Is 13.3/100.



Is Aetna Health Legit?

No. Aetna Health does not seem legit based on our analysis. This conclusion was arrived at by running over 166,851 Aetna Health User Reviews through our NLP machine learning process to determine if users believe the app is legitimate or not. Based on this, Justuseapp Legitimacy Score for Aetna Health Is 13.3/100.


Is Aetna Health not working?

Aetna Health works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or Contact Support.




Have a Problem with Aetna Health? Report Issue

Leave a comment:



Why should I report an Issue with Aetna Health?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Aetna Health to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Aetna Health customer and are running into a problem, Justuseapp might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Aetna Health.


Most Popular Apps in Health & Fitness