Mathway: Math Problem Solver Reviews

Mathway: Math Problem Solver Reviews

Published by on 2022-07-29

Mathway is the world’s smartest math calculator for algebra, graphing,
calculus and more! Mathway gives you unlimited access to math solutions that can
help you understand complex concepts. Simply point your camera and snap a photo
or type your math homework question for step-by-step ans...


User Experience Ratings

Negative experience
84.6%

Neutral
15.5%

Positive experience
15.4%

Table of Contents:
1. Reviews
2. Is it Safe?
3. Is it Legit?
4. App not working?
5. Report Issue


Reviews (29)

By

Recommend!!!!!!?

Once I was doing my homework I couldn’t figure it out I asked my mom to help me and I showed her and she fell asleep so I kind of started panicking Went downstairs to the table I started struggling and thinking and thinking so I went to Mathway Store looked and looked and looked and looked left to right for helping your homeworkIs the best I really do recommend it it is the best it will save your life and when I mean save your life I mean really save your life nobody really understands when they say that they saved their lifeThey never understand how much that person means they don’t even know how serious the persons like saying I really do recommend Mathway messed up in the world five star review amazing helpful save your life get it get it now get it now it’s the best app ever students allowed teacher teachers not allowed can students really need Mathway so don’t get mad at them if they have Mathway it’s the best time with them so hope you get it


By

Mathway

This online stuff been making some stressed out and my teachers didn’t explain nothing on how to solve algebra problems. So for a while I been googling answers but they weren’t giving me what I needed . My grades dropped and I was failing badly. I was at my lowest point and I completely lost hope. But one day as I was googling for an answer to ere was a ad that said that this math app will increase your grade in math and give u any answer u need. So knowing I didn’t have any other choice I downloaded it and immediately put Mathway to the test. What I found out astonished me. It actually gave me the correct answer and I couldn’t be happier. And ever since then , I been using this app and my grades increased. this app has helped so much and the most important thing it did to me besides make me pass was put a smile on my face. I was down bad but thanks to this app I am saved and stronger than before. this app is the way to go.


By

Best math solving app but still needs work

Mathway is great! It has helped me a ton in high school and in college classes if I needs help to check a problem or u detest and how to do a problem. For some problems it might tell you that something is unsolvable when it definitely is. I guess it just hasn’t had that problem put into Mathway so the software doesn’t understand it, my guess. One this I think would truly make this application stand out compared to the rest is putting word problems to solve for each category of math. For some work problems, it’s it’s a copy and paste word for word so getting answers and what to do with those wouldn’t be hard, however teachers always word problems in their own way so pulling out key words from a word problem to answer the question might not give you the exact problem you’re looking for, but I could give you a similar result to where you can get an idea on how to solve that word problem. Beside that, it’s the best app I’ve ever used!


By

Bad

I’m am math major and use Mathway to check work when I’m unsure. I’m almost done and have had problems the entire way through. When I first started Mathway was awesome it could any simple math up to calculus with no problems. Things like basic integrals were no problem for Mathway but once you start to do more difficult or complex integral Mathway responds with I’m unsure how to solve this problem. Sometimes I want to solve a polar equation let’s say and it won’t give me the option. It will graph it but if I use the variable r first it shuts down. I have to turn it into a rectangular equation then type that in which to me defeats the purpose of Mathway . A ton of my upper division math classes are kinda hard so I sometimes need an app like this to check work when I’m lost and have depended on Mathway for so long but recently it has let me down and I will most likely delete it. So I ended up deleting Mathway because I was tired of it not being able to solve anything. It can’t solve pretty basic limits like lim x!/x^n it just tells me that it’s unsolvable even though I could do something like this in my head. If you are not serious about math then this is a great app if you then don’t bother.


By

Absolutely astonished

I’m a student in college who got stuck in a crapload of math classes to learn programming, and I’m stuck using a self-pace website. And it’s only gonna get harder when I get into Trig and Calc. Mathway? I can’t rate it enough. I have no words to describe how..HAPPY Mathway has made me, and how much it’s helping me. Not only does it *show* you the answer, but it shows how it came to that solution, too. Certain subjects sure; I know. It’s simple and I don’t need Mathway for some. But for things like dividing polynomials, that’s the stuff I never learned. Mathway helped me pass a good portion of my class!!! The fact you can see how the solution came to be is...phenomenal. It really helps *UNDERSTAND* the logic behind it; not just how, but what to do exactly, without a tutor standing behind you watching you. 50/5 stars. If I wasn’t broke, I would DEFINITELY pay for Mathway so much! It’s definitely worth every penny that’s ever been in my account!


By

Great and I highly recommend!!

I’m taking Calc One and Mathway has help me so much, can’t say enough. It is a tedious experience to learn straight from the book, with so few examples that you have to become autodidact due to the circumstances. Some Instructors being so old school in their ways of teaching such an abstract concept. Honestly, as a student in this day an age, the education system has fall behind on the notion of how we learn in today’s world. I’m a visual learner and need to learn step by step, in a clear and orderly way how to solve any problem. this app has become not only my occasional tutor but my teacher by allowing me to learn and reason each of the steps as well as giving me infinite choices to better develop my skill. Thank you this app for sharing this knowledge with us the students, I love math but hate limitations in an era when they’re shouldn’t be one.





By

Not the best, but better than many others

This is one of the best calculator apps I have found on Mathway Store, but it has some issues that I wanted to mention. Some of the user interface tools are kind of weird (especially fraction related tools) and parenthesis and other formatting methods. I had previously used Desmos, an online graphing calculator, that I find did a much better job with ease of inputting questions. My largest concern is the “I am unable to solve this problem error.” For extremely basic problems the calculator is fine. Once I try to do something even remotely complicated it tells me it is unable to do the problem. Questions that aren’t even difficult seem to much for this calculator to handle. I often have to resort to typing my question into wolfram alpha, which does have the computing power to answer my questions (it just takes much longer to type in). I wish this app was able to solve my math problems, but it seems like more than half of the time the problem is too complicated.


By

LOVE THIS APP

I downloaded Mathway when I first started college and for this semester,I am taking business calculus and let me tell you, it is not easy at all. So I use Mathway to help me solve some problems. If you’re not able to find the problem you’re looking for you can always searchfor it and you will find it. It has settings to change between “calculators”, so say you’re taking algebra, you will use the algebra tab, right now I’m learning about derivatives and I have Mathway on the calculus tab. You do ,however, have to pay 10$/month, but that’s if you want the steps on how it’s solved. I usually just use it for the answers and find my answers on how to solve it on my textbook. Regardless, Mathway is a must for any college students or even for high schoolers. Oh and one last thing, it’s free so why not take advantage of that !!


By

Give me help not answers

Mathway is cool. It’s a graphing calculator on my phone and that really comes in handy when I don’t have my actual calculator on me. But one thing that makes me dislike Mathway is the fact that you can put in any equation and it will solve it, but you can’t see how to solve it without having to pay for premium. It just gives you the answer and you have to figure out how to find that answer on your own. I’m in calculus and sometimes have trouble figuring out problems and I use Mathway to help me sometimes. But most of the time I just become more confused than before I knew the answer to the problem because I look at the answer and just wonder how in the world did it get that. It just gets really annoying when I’m doing homework and I don’t understand a problem but I can’t get any help with it. It would be really great if step by step could be a non premium thing or if it could be both whereas some of the extremely hard and more in depth problems are in premium and all other step by step was in non premium.


By

Disappointed

Ok so I’m very disappointed in Mathway because Just yesterday I wrote a great review about it and how it would help blah blah etc... but today I was assigned work to do that was for a grade and I tried checking my answers, it would NOT let me see the answers and it’d keep saying we don’t have solution. Which is VERY annoying also the answer that it’d give me end up being completely WRONG I got a 50 percent on this assignment because I was so confident that Mathway was 100 percent right with it’s answers but now I feel like I can’t trust it 100 percent. I’m still going to keep it download because I haven’t lost all hope in it but if you’re getting Mathway make sure you get some other math apps for backup like cy-math MathPapa and Socratic which is good for everything.


By

The New Update is Terrible

I never write reviews but, I really love Mathway when I first got it. Which was probably in September 2019. I loved the helped that I got with my work and let me understand better. BUT the new update they just did a week ago, is absolutely terrible. I’m receiving adds, which is frustrating because I’m trying to get my work done and it’s taking longer than it should be, I understand an ad every single time you open Mathway or on the side. But I’m getting ads every three questions. I’m just trying to check my work, to see if I got the answers right. Another thing that is bothering me is that the camera won’t focus I would type in the questions but I’m doing algebra right now and it’s a mix of numbers and letters and it just would take me even longer. I understand again that the camera isn't focusing once in a while but this is every single time I try to use it. I just deleted Mathway and I’m going to use a different app for now because I’m getting frustrated with this.


By

Not sponsored

Seriously. I wish they’d pay me to write this because I’m a broke college student (worse because of the quarantine happening now) but ANYWAY. Mathway saved me. I’ve been using it since last semester when I took remedial Algebra, and it’s saving me again this semester with advanced algebra and trigonometry. I don’t know what it is about being bad at math that makes you feel horrible about yourself, but struggling in my classes really took a toll on me until someone told me about this app. It’s worth the subscription cost because I’m not failing anymore. The step by step guide is fantastic, and I love being able to choose how I want a particular equation solved. To the wonderful people that made Mathway (and keep it running) : thank you from the bottom of my heart. TLDR; Mathway is worth every penny, it’s a lifesaver.


By

This math app is amazing

So I’ve been looking for a good math app for a long time and many people suggested some apps. But they still didn’t help me, but then I came across Mathway and it was mind blowing. It has basic math, pre algebra, algebra, trigonometry, precalculus, calculus, statistics, finite math, linear algebra, chemistry, and graphing. And when you type in your question they even explain how they got their answer. I’m in middle school and this helped my a lot. They have everything in math from middle school to high school. Now I’m not the type of person who right reviews in fact I find writing reviews pointless. But this had to be said Mathway is that good. I had Mathway for almost four years and love Mathway and would’ve change anything about it.





By

Incredible :)

Mathway is easy to navigate, and gives you the answer to any problem! You can take a picture of your problem, or type it out! There are multiple ways you can have your problem solved! For example you can tell it to simplify it, evaluate it, find the range, and so so much more! (no i mean it. there are literally hundreds of ways to solve your problem I’ve scrolled through the list.) Oh! And it gives you an option to look at the steps, to see how it solved your problem incase you need to learn it! Mathway is incredible and helped me so much. In fact, i think you should be paying for this! That’s how amazing this really is! Big thank you to this app! You’ve solved all of my problems. :)


By

Great app, I recommend the subscription.

Mathway is worth the monthly cost if you can afford it. It makes Mathway even better and more useful. Trust me, you won’t regret it as it will help you through the problems and explain how you can get the answers. Mathway allows you to take images of the problems or you can type them out yourself. As a paying customer, I highly recommend for the devs of this app to add a feature to where one can upload a photo from their files/camera roll and crop to one problem on an image. The photo mode is great, but there’s no way to save images or upload images that may have been downloaded from the internet.


By

Love it but no support

Sent to 2 help requests and 2 days later I received an answer to them that I just needed to delete Mathway and re download. I told them I had already done that and sent another request. That was 3 days ago, still no help. I’m trying to put Mathway on both my iPads and it won’t let me put it on the second one. I quit mathpapa app because this one is better but if I can’t get any support when needed I will not keep it. I use Facebook to sign in to the 2 Nd app and yes my Facebook and iTunes email are the same I only have one email address for everything. I have tried deleting Mathway and re downloading it, even made sure the show work button was on before redoing the subscription. Will work but when I need to see the steps on a problem it just shows a blank page. I have 2 more years of math I need Mathway for and want to keep it, but if I cannot get this resolved I will have to try to find another one.


By

Not so great anymore

Not that long ago, Mathway was excellent and incredibly reliable. But the creators seem to have shifted their focus and became more about money. When you used to scan a problem, it would give you the steps. Now, it doesn't do that. It gives you a short, harder-to-understand mediocre version of the math problem. I genuinely hope the creators would go back to their old ways and change Mathway to what it was. They have no idea how many people, especially students they were helping out and making a difference in their lives because not everyone is good at math, and some (like me) need extra help. I could understand charging extra for in detail and profound explanation, but not simply for explaining a problem a little better. So hopefully, they consider making a change. So two stars for now until things change.


By

Not very good! Need to fix it up a bit!

My experience with it was very bad as I didn’t pay money for it. I tried to take a picture of my question so they could explain it to me. First of all, I took a picture of the question but it kept saying it doesn’t understand it. Even when I kept trying and it worked a couple of times, it never sent and put some random fraction which I knew for sure was the wrong answer. For premium it might have been better, but for not paying any money, it was a flop. Sometimes it kept freezing up and that was hard to work with. I had the answers to my question, but only the answer but I kept getting the wrong answer and I thought I was doing it right, but I downloaded this so I could see the explanation, but that was for premium only, and I didn’t want to spend my money on it and I’m glad I didn’t. Please make it better for people who didn’t get the premium version!


By

Lifesaver

I use Mathway when Photomath isn’t giving me the answers I need or in the form that I need them. Mathway asks you what exactly you’re solving for and what form you need it in so that you can get the answers you need. The layout looks nice and seems easy enough to use, though I haven’t used all the features/symbols. I use this for everything from basic algebra to pre-calculus and trigonometry problems and it works great. You can also use your camera to take a picture of the problem and this features works perfectly almost every time. If it doesn’t, you have the option to edit the problem yourself. Would recommend Mathway for sure.


By

Great except for one thing

Mathway is simply fantastic. Any math problem you throw at it, it can solve. With higher math problems, you might have to give it a little direction as to how to solve a problem or solve for what you’re looking for, but it will always give you the right answer if you know what to ask. My only issue is that copying and pasting is non-existent and you can’t copy an answer directly into the typing area. Sometimes you need the answer of one problem to solve for the next, and you can’t do that without typing out the entire answer from your previous problem to solve that next one. This feature would greatly be appreciated in a future version of Mathway .





By

Bad

I’m am math major and use Mathway to check work when I’m unsure. I’m almost done and have had problems the entire way through. When I first started Mathway was awesome it could any simple math up to calculus with no problems. Things like basic integrals were no problem for Mathway but once you start to do more difficult or complex integral Mathway responds with I’m unsure how to solve this problem. Sometimes I want to solve a polar equation let’s say and it won’t give me the option. It will graph it but if I use the variable r first it shuts down. I have to turn it into a rectangular equation then type that in which to me defeats the purpose of Mathway . A ton of my upper division math classes are kinda hard so I sometimes need an app like this to check work when I’m lost and have depended on Mathway for so long but recently it has let me down and I will most likely delete it. So I ended up deleting Mathway because I was tired of it not being able to solve anything. It can’t solve pretty basic limits like lim x!/x^n it just tells me that it’s unsolvable even though I could do something like this in my head. If you are not serious about math then this is a great app if you then don’t bother.


By

Excellent for understanding breakdowns of problems.

Greatest 10$ a month I’ve ever spent. I needed a tutor to help me study for the ASVAB which one section involves Algebra & Geometry to get into the military which are my weak points in Math. I specifically needed someone who could break down Algebra steps for me in simpler terms than just giving me just answers. Being a dyslexic who’s a slow learner, I need step by step solutions to HOW the problem is solved so I can understand how to solve the equation such as (Solve for X & Y) type of problems or questions involving PEMDAS. It’s like having my own tutor but working around my time and my pace. Well done!!!


By

Started working Great

Update: Mathway is fixed and working great!!! Thanks Update on Mathway!!! I purchased Mathway so that I can take advantage of viewing steps. Well it started working for a few months and now it will longer give me the option AGAIN!!! This is so annoying!! Now it just gives me an option so that I can purchase live tutor for $110. Why would I want to purchase live tutor when I can’t even view the steps of a problem and that’s what I paid money for!!!!😡 Mathway IS NOT ALWAYS RELIABLE AND IT IS ANNOYING!!!! When a person spends their money 💰 they should get what the paid for at least!!!


By

The Best!

I love Mathway. I wish I had known about it sooner, it is beyond helpful. Currently taking calculus and I have been struggling to understand certain concepts. All I do is type the equation in and it will prompt me on how I want it solved, so far it has always had the option I needed (have had Mathway for two semesters, pre-cal and calc.)Then it solves it step by step and you can expand every little detailed step until to you get to the final answer so you can see how to solve it on your own! I love it! I purchased the annual subscription and honestly it’s well worth the money, you’d pay more for a tutor.


By

It’s good, BUT...

I will admit, this is a good way to figure out the answer to the problem and the steps on how to get there. It’s nice and easy to use for people who are picking it up for the first time in order to get some last minute homework done. But there is one problem with it. When I manually input a problem and search for the way to answer it, it’s alright at first. But it’s when I try to do the SECOND question and manually search for how to solve it, the moment I type in a single letter it crashes. I don’t know what the issue is, but it’s quite bothersome to have to reset Mathway every time I want to solve more than one problem.


By

I respect the people who made this app

Mathway is a legit lifesaver. I was stuck on an algebra packet and I did not know what to do. I tried using browser and other calculators but they either weren’t quick or they did not work. Which is when I found Mathway. I installed Mathway and I don’t regret it, I got the first page done using Mathway and I started understanding my homework more and more. The best part is, you can take a picture of the question, you don’t even have to type it which is Great! I love Mathway, and so will you.


By

Clunky design difficult to use

For many simple math problems, the calculator app that comes included with the iPhone works much better (although it doesn’t graph, or handle complex numbers). For graphing and complex math, there are web sites that work better and are free. It also lacks a programmer’s calculator option (for base conversion between decimal, binary, and hexadecimal). As far as paying for explanations of solutions, it would make sense (if this service is really so great), to allow at least a short free trial period. I don’t recommend buying it sight unseen. I certainly won’t. Especially with the poor quality of what I CAN see without payment. The number of 5-star reviews strikes me as a bit fishy. Given that there are people who write positive reviews for a living, I suspect a lot of these (mostly one-sentence) reviews are paid.





By

Great, but there’s one problem....

On my iPhone XS Max running iOS 12.1.2, Mathway crashes every single time I search for a question pertaining to the problem. The only way for me to avoid these crashes is by scrolling to find it, which as you know can be very time-consuming. I am in Calculus and I can confirm that Mathway helps with the basics of Calculus, and nothing further. It would be awesome to see some future updates that could change that. Thanks, this is an honest review and a 4-star is deserved since it helped out immensely at the beginning of the semester despite me having to scroll each and every time. Have a nice day :)


By

cant do a single series or sequence problem!!

I have been using this app as a paid customer for over a year and half now and i has gotten me through all my math classes pretty well. In calculus 2 now we use series or sequence and and Mathway cannot even solve one single problem i put it in its always “im unable to solve this problem” why even have the option of a capital sigma button if they app cant solve a single problem with it!! What you need to improve on is the algorithm of Mathway to actually be able to solve those kind of problems like Symbolab can, Mathway is better at explaining steps if you can improve on advance math like this it would be perfect.






A better way to Contact apps


You can now contact Mathway: Math Problem Solver customer service directly
via Email using our new site - AppContacter.com

Contact Mathway: Math Problem Solver directly


Is Mathway Safe?

No. Mathway: Math Problem Solver does not seem very safe to us. This is based on our NLP (Natural language processing) analysis of over 392,030 User Reviews sourced from the Appstore and the appstore cumulative rating of 4.9/5 . Justuseapp Safety Score for Mathway: Math Problem Solver Is 15.4/100.



Is Mathway Legit?

No. Mathway: Math Problem Solver does not seem legit based on our analysis. This conclusion was arrived at by running over 392,030 Mathway: Math Problem Solver User Reviews through our NLP machine learning process to determine if users believe the app is legitimate or not. Based on this, Justuseapp Legitimacy Score for Mathway: Math Problem Solver Is 15.4/100.


Is Mathway: Math Problem Solver not working?

Mathway: Math Problem Solver works most of the time. If it is not working for you, we recommend you excersise some patience and retry later or Contact Support.




Reported Issues: 4 Comments

By aaaa
Jul 16 2022

MATHWAY IS GREAT OMG USE IT



By Anonymous
Nov 10 2021

i have logged on to Mathway with google and want to delete my account. But it says to enter my password when I didn't make any. When I enter my google account password that I keep for everything, it errored "invalid password". sus, strange, hax.



By gabriel rimmer
Jul 09 2021

I purchase the premium and it still did not work but they still took the money of my card



By Bandula
Jun 01 2021

x has probability function given f(x)= 1/2 e^(x/2) x>= 0 and otherwise 0 find expected value E(X) ?





Have a Problem with Mathway: Math Problem Solver? Report Issue

Leave a comment:



Why should I report an Issue with Mathway: Math Problem Solver?

  1. Pulling issues faced by users like you is a good way to draw attention of Mathway: Math Problem Solver to your problem using the strength of crowds.
  2. We have developed a system that will try to get in touch with a company once an issue is reported and with lots of issues reported, companies will definitely listen.
  3. Importantly, customers can learn from other customers in case the issue is a common problem that has been solved before.
  4. If you are a Mathway: Math Problem Solver customer and are running into a problem, Justuseapp might not be the fastest and most effective way for you to solve the problem but at least you can warn others off using Mathway: Math Problem Solver.


Most Popular Apps in Education

Photomath
Photomath Reviews

Read more
Duolingo - Language Lessons
Duolingo - Language Lessons Reviews

Read more
Google Classroom
Google Classroom Reviews

Read more
Remind: School Communication
Remind: School Communication Reviews

Read more
Brainly – Homework Help App
Brainly – Homework Help App Reviews

Read more
Mathway: Math Problem Solver
Mathway: Math Problem Solver Reviews

Read more
Toca Life World: Build stories
Toca Life World: Build stories Reviews

Read more
Kahoot! Play & Create Quizzes
Kahoot! Play & Create Quizzes Reviews

Read more
Socratic by Google
Socratic by Google Reviews

Read more
Quizlet: Learn with Flashcards
Quizlet: Learn with Flashcards Reviews

Read more
Gauthmath - Talk to tutors now
Gauthmath - Talk to tutors now Reviews

Read more
Canvas Student
Canvas Student Reviews

Read more
Toca Hair Salon 4
Toca Hair Salon 4 Reviews

Read more
PowerSchool Mobile
PowerSchool Mobile Reviews

Read more
ClassDojo
ClassDojo Reviews

Read more